Lifetime Excellence in Advocacy Award

Letter from The Texas Association of Civil Trial and Appellate Specialists

October 27, 2011

Dear TACTAS Members,

TACTAS Members have elected Wayne Fisher as the 2011 recipient of the Lifetime Excellence in Advocacy Award. Wayne Fisher is a living legend, and I hope that all of you can join us on Wednesday, November 16, 2011, as we celebrate some of Wayne’s accomplishments. Here is a short version of Wayne’s biography:

A native of Cameron, Texas, Wayne Fisher founded the Houston law firm of Fisher, Boyd, Johnson & Huguenard, LLP in 1966. One of the best-known and most respected civil trial lawyers in Texas and the United States, Mr. Fisher graduated with honors from Baylor University and began his legal practice with the firm of Fulbright & Jaworski. He has been elected President of the State Bar of Texas, the Texas Trial Lawyers Association, and the International Academy of Trial Lawyers. He has served as a Regent of the American College of Trial Lawyers, and is a member of the Inner Circle of Advocates. Listed in the Best Lawyers in America for both personal injury trial law and business litigation, Mr. Fisher has been voted by his peers as one of “Texas’ Top 100 Super Lawyers,” and recognized by the State Bar of Texas as a “Texas Trial Titan.” He is board certified in personal injury trial law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, and was recently honored as the 2011 “Houston Personal Injury Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers, the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. Mr. Fisher has obtained recoveries in excess of $1 million in hundreds of cases involving products liability, aviation, maritime, and medical malpractice claims, construction accidents, and truck, auto, and train collisions. He has also served as lead counsel in major business and probate litigation matters, including litigation concerning the Estate of Howard Hughes. A leader in community affairs, Mr. Fisher has served as Chairman of the Texas Cultural Trust, a trustee of Scott & White Healthcare System, and as a director or trustee of South Texas College of Law, the Houston Symphony Society, the Center for American and International Law, the United States Supreme Court Historical Society, and the Texas State 4-H Development Foundation.

Wayne joins the elite group of advocates who are the past recipients of the Lifetime Excellence in Advocacy Award:

Finis Cowan
Joe Jamail
Harry Reasoner
Andrew Jefferson
Dick Miller
Joe Reynolds
Jim Sales
Steve Susman

Yours truly,

/s/ George Shipley
George Shipley

Fisher, Boyd
Johnson & Huguenard, LLP
10000 Memorial Drive Suite 300 Houston,
Texas 77024
Phone: 713.400.4000  |  Toll Free: 888.400.8044
Fax: 713.400.4050
LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbel

This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. [ Site Map ] [ Bookmark Us ]